Thursday 3 September 9 p.m.

Città di Castello, San Domenico Church

Jörg Demus piano

Joseph Haydn, Andante con variazioni in F minor Hob. XVII: 6 Un piccolo divertimento
Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart, Sonata in A major n. 11 K331 Türkischer Marsch
Ludwig van Beethoven, Sonata in A flat major n. 31 op. 110
Alban Berg, Sonata in B minor op. 1
Franz Schubert, 4 Impromptus op. 90 D899

Jӧrg Demus needs no introduction. His name is written in the books of the history of music as the legendary Austrian pianist who, with Friedrich Gulda and Paul Badura-Skoda, formed the so-called ‘Viennese troika’. In his long career he was often beside Karajan in the role of soloist and still today continues his concert and teaching activities throughout the world.
He presents a programme containing examples of Viennese classicism alongside nineteenth century avant-garde. Included are masterpieces by Haydn, Mozart, Schubert and Beethoven, the so-called first Vienna school; alongside the Sonata op. 1 by Alban Berg, the Austrian’s only work for this instrument, composed between 1907 and 1908 and which is considered the first work for pianoforte of the second Vienna school. It is in sonata form but is structured in one sole movement, at the suggestion also of Schonberg who, in response to Berg’s doubts, remarked ‘There is nothing else to say.’