Foto di Marco Borrelli

Saturday 6th September, 9 p.m.

Città di Castello, San Domenico Church

Orchestra della Toscana
Benedetto Lupo piano
Eduard Topchjan conductor

Sergej Rachmaninov, Concerto n. 2 in C minor for piano and orchestra op. 18
Aram Khačaturjan, Extracts from Spartacus:
Entrance of the Merchants, Dance of a roman courtesan(Suite n. 2)
Variations from Aegina znd Bacchanalia (Suite n. 1)
Adagio of Spartacus and Phrygia (Suite n. .2)
Dance of the greek slaves (Suite n. 3)
Death of the Gladiator (Suite n. 4)
Dance of Gaditanae, Victory of Spartacus (Suite n. 1)

Inspired to the fictionl story of the Phrygian gladiator, Spartacus it is one of Khačaturjan’s masterpieces composed for the ballet, from which the composer of Tbilisi extracted four suites and three symphonic scenes. Together with Gajaneh and its “Sabre dance”, even Spartacus has became one of the most apprecciated pages of the Armenia repertoire, with its mix of elements coming from the popular tradition and from the western culture, combined together by a brilliant orchestration. The music of Spartacus earned Khačaturjan the greatest sovietic reward: the Lenin Prize.

To Spartacus, the program of the concert performed by the Orchestra della Toscana combines Rachmaninov, one of the russian authors who often is compared to Khačaturjan. By the composer- concert performer there will be in program the famous Rach2, the unavoidable masterpiece presents in the repertoire of the most acclaimed pianist all over the world, inevitabile because of its capability to combine virtuosity with peak of emphasis and lyricism following the example of the best ciaikovskian tradition. Benedetto Lupo, pianist from Puglia, will perform that repertoire, he is considered one of the most interesting and complete talents of his generation.