Foto di Maki Galimberti

Monday 1st September, 9 p.m.

Città di Castello, San Domenico Church

I Virtuosi Italiani

Alberto Martini I violin

Federico Mondelci saxophone and conductor

Vardapet Komitas, Six melodies for strings orchestra
Makar Ekmalyan, Hayr Sourb for soprano saxophone and strings orchestra
Aleksandr Glazunov, Concerto for alto saxophone and strings orchestra
in E flat major op. 109
Dmitrij Šostakovič, Two pieces (Preludio and Scherzo) for strings orchestra op. 11
Aram Khačaturjan, Suite for strings orchestra (arranged by Ruben Altunian)

Soghomon Gevorki Soghomonyan, better known as Komitas, is  considered one of the fathers of the Armenian culture, musician  and monk, but above all researcher and academic of the Armenian musical tradition. Father Komitas escaped the death during the Great Deportation in 1915, but he died in Paris in a fit of madness due to that traumatic experienceand to the destruction of allo f his music. His Eight Melodies for strings orchestra will be compared with some works by the russians Glazunov and Šostakovič, together with the Suite for orchestra by Khačaturjan, the major Armenian composer of the XX Century. The prestigious presence of Federico Mondelci, conducting the Virtuosi Italiani, will be the occasion to celebrate the bicentenary of the birth of Adolphe Sax, the inventor of the instrument which in its various shapes influnced  all the XX Century music: from Jazz to Rhytm and Blues, to the classical music.